An effort in f a c i l i t a t i o n

Living the Five Morals

بسم الله والصلاة والسلام على رسول الله

Beautifully described in the Qur’an, these are the essential qualities a Muslim is expected to adopt in his/her practical life.

“They are the steadfast, the truthful, the humble; they spend in the cause of Allah, and seek forgiveness in the small hours of the morning.” Surah Aal Imran 3:17

This verse mentions five moral characteristics: sabr, sidq, qunut, infaq & istighfaar. 

Sabr, in essence, means to stand firm and to pursue the truth steadfastly under all kinds of conditions and circumstances, whether easy or difficult, whether one is afflicted with poverty, disease, or distress and even when faced with bitter hostility. To pursue truth with fortitude and to confront whatever comes one’s way patiently — without despairing or losing heart, without regret or complaint and refusing to surrender to falsehood come what may. A major portion of the din — the religion of Islam – is based on sabr or patience and fortitude. In essence, Islam has appropriately been described as half gratitude and half patience. Human experience shows that in the absence of patience one cannot even be truly grateful.

Sidq, in essence, means being in full harmony with reality or facts. It signifies firmness and solidity of substantial nature. A spear with patently strong joints is described as sadiqa-l kuub, which when tested, is actually found to be strong, firm and reliable. Some of the manifestations of sidq are harmony between heart and tongue, words and deeds, the apparent and the internal life of a person, and consistency between one’s beliefs and actions.

As to qunut, its essence is humility and self-abasement before Allah, born out of the realisation of a sense of gratitude for the countless blessings of Allah and His limitless power, glory, and majesty. Qunut transforms any blessing received into a form or means of showing our gratitude to Him, while any misfortune or hardship encountered along the way offers yet a fresh opportunity to exercise patience. Qunut is thus the direct opposite of the proud and arrogant attitude born out of the mistaken notion that whatever Divine blessings one receives are one’s by right for which no gratitude is due to anyone. Qunut initially denotes humility of mind and heart and it is essentially reflected in one’s appearance, speech, gait, and character.

As for infaq, it is obviously the opposite of spending on worldly pleasures for one’s selfish gratification. The characteristic of spending on others is a clear proof that in one’s eyes the life hereafter and its enduring blessings are more important and worth striving for rather than wasting one’s energies on worthless trinkets of this transitory life on earth.

Istighfaar means calling upon Allah and supplicating to Him in humility to cover one’s lapses, sins, and shortcomings. Such a lament and cry for help is the result of the humility and fear induced in a person on realising the infinite blessings of his Sustainer upon him along with the thought that He is the Lord of impeccable justice and retribution. The addition of the words “who pray for forgiveness in the early hours of the morning” shows that this is the most suitable time for the acceptance of supplications for forgiveness. This time is most secure against the hazards of showing off and most appropriate for concentrating the mind and pondering earnestly over the messages of Allah. It is indeed a great bounty of our Most Generous Sustainer that He has not only directed us to make istighfar but has also at the same time taught us about the most suitable time for its acceptance.

Compiled From:
“Pondering Over The Qur’an: Surah Aal Imran” by Shaykh Amin Ahsan Islahi

Courtesy: FridayNasiha

October 27, 2017 - Posted by | Muqeet's (assorted), Reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Source: Living the Five Morals […]

    Pingback by Living the Five Morals – Food For Thought | November 4, 2017 | Reply

Your comments, if any...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: