YasSarNal QuR'aN

An Effort in Facilitation

Memorizing the Qur’an: Interview with Grade 9 student

Hafidh Muhammad Annas is presently studying in Grade 9.  He missed one year as he took off from academic studies to go for the full time Tahfeedhul Qur’an. Alhamdulillaah, after having successfully completed the memorization of the glorious Qur’an he is back to school this academic year. He is a very studious student ever since he joined our school in Grade 1.

Being a proud teacher of this blessed student, I deem it as an honour to present this interview for the larger benefit of many upcoming huffaadh al kiraam who are spread across the globe. 

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu.

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Wa’alaikum Assalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu.

Mabrook, dear Annas.  I am so happy as it is pleasant to know that you have finished the Hifdhul Qur’an, Mashaa’Allah. Congratulations to you and your parents for achieving such a great thing, alhamdulillah.

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Thank you, Sir.

It is really the blessing of Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta’aala that you were able to complete the Hifdh in such a young age.

How old are you?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo 15

How it feels to be a hafidh at this age?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo It feels great to realize that I have overcome something that people older than me wish to!

What was your parents’ reaction on the completion of the Hifdhul Qur’an?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo They were very happy, when I entered home the day I completed the Qur’an memorisation, my mother was almost in tears. My father hugged me and patted me on my back. It was a memorable moment for me.

Do you feel age is important in doing hifdhul Qur’an?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo My ustadh always used to tell me to complete hifdh fast because I was on the border age! He used to tell me that for someone to do hifdh, he must be not older than 16 because one you cross 16, you are basically halfway adult! When you step into the adulthood, it’s very hard to give more time and concentration as it is required for hifdh. The universal hifdh age is from 4 to 16. People can do hifdh after, 16 and I know a few who did, but it is very difficult. So the younger, the better!

Difficult, but not impossible.

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Of course, yes.

Tell us about your Ustadh.

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo My Ustadh was a fine gentleman and a good teacher. He used to explain the tajweed rules in such a way that it made tajweed look as easy as ABC. When I was feeling difficulty in learning, he used to tell me to relax and would narrate about how the great Sahabah also faced problems learning. He used to tell me certain Azkaar to help. His name is Ustadh Kaleemullah. In a way, he was much like you.

What was your feeling when you left school to join full time Qur’an Centre?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo I was a little excited, a little nervous and a lot scared. I was scared because I would’ve wasted my time if I wasn’t able to complete the hifdh.

In which Qur’an Centre you took up your mission to memorize the Qur’an?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Abdullah bin Masood Qur’an Keeping Centre, Sharjah.

What was the timings of the Madarsa, that is study time, rest time etc.?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo We used to study from 6.30 to  9.00 am/10. 00 a.m (depends on the class; different classes had different break time in order to maintain calmness and serenity) Then 20 minutes break was given to ease ourselves.  From 10.30 to 12.00 noon it was study time again. 12.00 to 1.00 p.m. Zuhr and lunch break. Rest time was between 1 and 3.00 p.m. Then from 3.15 till Asr prayer, it was study time. After Asr prayer till Maghrib, it was again study time and we used to leave our madarsa after performing Maghrib prayers.

Hmmm, it should have been hectic time Subhanallaah. How long did it take for you to complete the full Qur’an memorization?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo  About 2 years. 10th August 2013 to 2nd September 2015.

Can you tell us when and how all it began?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo It all began when I went for Umrah in April 2013. As soon as I came back, there was something inside me, something telling me that I had to do something. It was then that we were studying the lesson about hufaadh in school. The lesson was “Mission Possible: Memorizing the Qur’an”. I can still remember that day sir when you were explaining about the rewards for memorizing the Qur’an both in this world and in the Hereafter. You taught me that huffaadh are the protectors of the Qur’an. That motivated me; I wanted to do something for my religion and what better way to do it than protecting the book of Allah in my memory.

What was your motivation to become the Hafidh?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Actually you were my motivation, sir!

I am humbled at this.

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo You were indeed the cause of my motivation.

Alhamdulillaah. As you know, Tajweed is very important to read the Qur’an in proper and correct method. How much time you spent with your Ustadh to learn Tajweed?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo I spent 30 days, one full month, in order to grasp the full method/technique for tajweed

What methods did your Ustadh adopt in order to make you learn tajweed?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Tajweed is actually the basics of doing hifdh. My ustadh displayed diagrams to explain from which part of the mouth the huroof come out. For Example, Aa’in from the middle of the throat while Gha’in from the upper part of the throat.

What method you adopted to grasp the techniques of Tajweed and the art of Qur’anic recitation?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo I started listening to the tilaawaah online. Well your blog helped me a lot in that matter and I started using tajweed-type-huroof in normal language.

Can you define or elaborate what do you mean by ‘Tajweed-type huroof in normal language’?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Tajweed type huroof in normal language is nothing but the use of the specific letters such as Aa’in to say the word Sana’iaah which means industrial area in my mother tongue (Urdu) as well as in Arabic.

How did you proceed from one Juz to another?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Well, at first it took time, the first & second Juz were completed in 28 days each and then it decreased accordingly.

From Juz 1 to Juz 30 or Juz 30 to Juz 1?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo From last Juz to first Juz. As last Juz has small Surahs, it is easier to learn Tajweed and perfect one’s pronunciation.

You had any specific plan on a daily basis?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo I started with half a page a day and increased it by one page, two pages and eventually finished it with six a day.

MashaaAllah. How fast was your Hifdh progress?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Well, I wanted to finish in a year or at least in 18 months, but it took me two years so I guess I progressed slower than I expected.

Did you get struck up at any place and because of that your speed got slowed down?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Yes, actually I did get stuck up thrice when I was doing hifdh while I was in Grade 8. You know, I used to come to school on special permission to take up Term exams. If I was taking 2 pages, it got reduced to one page.

That means, aspiring huffadh should take up full time hifdh in order to avoid this problem, right?

Yes sir, it is better and advisable too. When I discontinued school and took to full time memorisation in my second year of hifdh journey, things got very easy alhamdulillaah as I was relieved of the stress of academic studies.

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Did you face laziness or some mental block during your hifdh journey? If yes, how did you overcome that problem?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo If I had any mental block, I would forget all about learning during my class, go and talk to my ustadh about the problem. He would help me overcome it by motivating and making me feel at ease.

Any specific problem you faced during the process of memorization?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Nothing specific, you know just family issues and stuff, sometimes it happens!

Any competition the Qur’an Centre used to organise among those doing hifdh in order to motivate or boast up students’ energy?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Yes, every Saturday there used to be a Tilaawah competition among 6 different students. First and Second prizes were given. Every day after/before Zuhr prayer (depending upon the class; for me it was before Zuhr salah) there used to be Islamic lectures to motivate students to become good Muslims. That was the motivation for students to boost up their energy in Tilaawah as well as completing the hifdh.

Memorising and remembering the Mutashabihaat aayaat is so difficult and challenging as well, right? How did you meet this challenge? Did your Ustadh tell you any specific method to follow with regard to the Mutashabihaat verses?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo It was not very challenging at first, but then when I started to memorize more and more, I faced problems at the Mutashabihaat, but the my ustadh told me to learn both the Mutashabihaat ayaats with their respective meanings so I could know in which ayah Allah (S.W.T.) is focusing on what and what particular command He is giving us to do.

You must be aware that in both Boys’ as well as Girls’ Sections in our school, there are some huffadh who have already completed, some are undergoing hifdh. Any message or advice you wish to tell them?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo The ones who are undergoing hifdh I would like to tell them to do a lot of hard work and focus on the target because completing hifdh is not an easy task.

What is your plan/target to do the revision/review of the Qur’an on daily basis? How are you revising the Qur’an?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo I still go to the madrasah (3 to 7 pm) I have to give my awqaf exams so I revise 2 or 3 Juz daily.

You know very well that we have to understand the glorious Qur’an. As a hafidh, what is your plan with regard to this?

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo As I am preparing for my awqaf exams, I will try to revise it, InshaaAllah, with meaning as I know that is very important.

May Allah help you pass your exams in flying colours. Aameen. It is nice talking to you, dear. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Jazakallaahu Khayra. May Allah bless you immensely both in this world and in the Hereafter. Aameen.

Annas Muhammad Ishtiaq's profile photo Aameen. Thank you for your support.

Baarakallaahu Feekum.

Related Posts:

MISSION POSSIBLE

Memorizing the Qur’an: A Presentation

October 29, 2015 - Posted by | Memorizing the Qur'an | , , , , , , , , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Barakallah fee my brother! You are an inspiration for all muslims!

    Comment by khansana1000 | October 29, 2015 | Reply

    • Indeed he is!
      Jazakillaahu Khayra.

      Comment by MuQeet | October 30, 2015 | Reply

  2. […] Visit YasSarNalQuR’aN InshaaAllah. […]

    Pingback by Memorizing the Qur’an: Interview with Grade 9 student | |-| Islamic Studies |-| | October 30, 2015 | Reply

  3. May there be hafiz of qurans in every muslim family. Ameen.

    Can I hifz center details (location in Sharjah, starting age, phone no… etc)? I would be glad to get details of other hifz centres in sharjah too.

    Jazak Allahul khair.

    Comment by Haya | October 30, 2015 | Reply

  4. salaam alaikum! bro. Muqeet
    bro. Annas + he got 10 more persons that he can favour them to Jannah, Insha allah.

    is there a branch somwhere in Dubai? Is this institute allow only local/arab students?
    can expat non native arab speaking also join? pls. advise. Jazakallah.

    Comment by Akram | October 31, 2015 | Reply

  5. assalamulykum wrbt, Brother muqeet jazaakumullahi khair for posting this inspiring interview with Anas, May Allah bless him and all our children with knowledge of the deen, wisdom and intelligence, Ameen.
    Mabrook to the parents and teachers also, there help is immense, may Allah award them abundantly, Ameen.

    For Brother Akram, please note there is Quran Memorising centre in Hor AlAnz -Dubai where my son is now doing hifdh – full time. Alhamdulillah he has now completed 15juz and has discontinued school after completing 8th grade. Kindly contact Ustadh Ghulam Hafiz on his mobile – 050-6874692 if you are interested.

    Brother Muqeet and all our brothers and sisters, humble request to make duaa for my son and daughters and all children who are memorising for the ease. May Allah make it easy for them, Ameen

    Comment by naseem | November 3, 2015 | Reply

    • Wa alaikumus salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu. Sister Naseem Jazakillaahu khayra and thank you so much for your appreciation and du’aa. May Allah accept all your du’aas and bless you and your family. Aameen.
      Nice to know that your son also is doing hifdhul Qur’an on full time basis, mashaaAllah. Parents arranging for their kids’ hifdh is indeed great and appreciable. May Allah bless your son and all those doing hifdhul Qur’an, make things easy for them and shower upon them His infinite mercy. Aameen.
      Baarakallaahu feek.

      Comment by MuQeet | November 3, 2015 | Reply

  6. hy Annas ……i am ur friend taha all the best

    Comment by Taha Javed | November 7, 2015 | Reply

  7. Jazakallah Khair and thank you all for your heart whelming comments. MAy Allah grant you the best in this world and in the Hereafter, Aameen

    Comment by Hafiz Muhammad Annas | November 16, 2015 | Reply


If You have something necessary to tell, You are most welcome :)

