YasSarNal QuR'aN

An Effort in Facilitation

Wa Ma Tawfeeqee il-laah bil-laah

Today I would like to discuss briefly on this extremely popular phrase. You must have seen it in wall hangings etc.

Do we know what is the value and significance of this Qur’anic phrase?

Every endeavor of ours need the Tawfeeq of Allah and only then its purpose will be achieved and its goal reached. We cannot do anything without the Tawfeeq of Allah. Tawfeeq only comes from Allah and none else! What then is Tawfeeq? 

Tawfeeq means success, to succeed, to be right, to be well-guided, to inspire

“He (Prophet Shu’ayb) said, “O my people, have you considered: if I am upon clear evidence from my Lord and He has provided me with a good provision from Him… ? And I do not intend to differ from you in that which I have forbidden you; I only intend reform as much as I am able. And my success is not but through Allah. Upon him I have relied, and to Him I return.” (Surah Huud: 88)

وما توفيقي إلّا بالله

Wa Ma Tawfeeqee il-laah bil-laah can be translated as:

* And my success cannot come except from Allah

* And there is no success except that it comes only from Allah

* And my inspiration rests with none except Allah 

* And my guidance (in my work) can come only from Allah

* And my wellness rests with none except Allah 

* And my succor is only with Allah

* And my being on the right is only through Allah

None aspires to be a failure. Everyone wants success.

We, as believers in Islam, must do our part and rely on Allah.

We must not be under the notion that ‘it is because of me that I am successful today’!

NO! It is only because of Allah that you are successful!

“Allahu waliyyut tawfeeq” is yet another Islamic phrase which means ‘Allah is the Giver of Success’!

Read the revised version of this post here

Baarakallaahu Feekum.

September 22, 2012 - Posted by | Prophets of Islam, Qur'anic Phrases, Reflections | , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Assalamu’alaykum Bro!
    Jazak’Allah khair… Commenting on a blog after a long time, because most of my comments are ending up in spam😦 Hope this one won’t.

    Comment by Ayesha | September 23, 2012 | Reply

    • Wa alaikumus salam, Sis!

      Wa iyyaaki. I thought you became busy in your exams/studies and that’s why you dont comment🙂
      Don’t mind, sister, even if your comment goes as spam in this blog, I will retrieve it, Inshaa’Allah.
      Thank you for commenting. Vassalam.

      Comment by MuQeet | September 23, 2012 | Reply

      • haha yeah sure bro! thanks, I know you do it…🙂 and yes, somewhat busy in studies too😉 Exams in November.

        Comment by Ayesha | September 23, 2012 | Reply

        • Being a medical student is really tedious!
          Keep up the hard work🙂

          Comment by MuQeet | September 23, 2012 | Reply

          • yeah!🙂 Need your prayers bro!

            Comment by Ayesha | September 23, 2012

          • May Allah guide you at every step of yours. Aameen.

            Comment by MuQeet | September 23, 2012

          • Suma Aameen Bro!
            Here’s a request, Pls Vote “NO” to decision to publish images of the Prophet Mohammed PBUH. Scroll down http://edition.cnn.com at right bottom say “NO”

            Comment by Ayesha | September 24, 2012

          • Done early morning itself, alhamdulillah, but now the question is changed!

            Comment by MuQeet | September 24, 2012

          • Bro! There seems to be some other motive behind this poll thing, they made another poll the day before ysterday and then removed it again without any follow up etc… I suppose may be its driving Traffic to their website, thats why they are putting up such stuff of their website!

            Comment by Ayesha | September 27, 2012

          • Wa allahu ‘alam! Dear Sister.

            The mainstream media, both and electronic, are under the control of Zionist elements who MAKE news according to THEIR agenda!
            The tragedy is that we Muslims do not have any international reputed news agency on a global level to match the Jewish-run Reuters, for example.

            Thank you for your concern. May Allah bless you. Aameen.

            Comment by MuQeet | September 27, 2012

  2. Suma Aameen! Yes, Bro! You’re right. Time to ponder seriously.

    Comment by Ayesha | September 30, 2012 | Reply

  3. Reblogged this on My lil library and commented:
    SubhanAllah🙂

    Comment by qurratalayn | October 6, 2012 | Reply


If You have something necessary to tell, You are most welcome :)

