YasSarNal QuR'aN

An Effort in Facilitation

Beware of ‘this dangerous da’wah’!

Today I would like to discuss about a ‘da’wah’ that is down-rightly destructive and out-rightly misleading!

A ‘da’wah’ that is destined for the purpose of ditching you and me!

A targeted approach leading people to the perpetual failure! A betrayal of sorts! 

Da’wah, as it is normally understood, is ‘a call to Islam’. If I say someone is doing Da’wah, it means that he is calling people to Islam or he is propagating the teachings of Islam to those who do not know about it.

Arabic language, especially Qur’anic Arabic, is immaculately rich in meaning and connotation.

The word ‘Da’wah’, which comes from the Arabic root د ع و , has different shades of meanings.

Da’wah could be a supplication, a plea, an invitation, a call. Da’wah could be general. And da’wah could be specific.

The word دعوت (da’awtu) means ‘I invited’ and when you add the suffix كم, it would mean ‘I invited you’ دعوتكم (da’awtukum).

Prophet Nooh, alaihis salaam, uses this word ‘da’awtu’ in this verse:

“He said, “My Lord, indeed I invited my people [to truth] night and day” (Surah Nooh 71: 5)

Now, if somebody invites you to something, either you reject or respond to the invitation.

‘istajaaba’ (verb form) and ‘jawaba (noun form), which means ‘ an answer’ or ‘a response’, comes from the root ج و ب

From the derivatives of the root ج و ب comes the word yastajeebu, which means ‘they responded’.

If you add the suffix ‘lee’ to it, it would mean ‘they responded to me’ or ‘they will respond to me’ (yastajeebu-lee)

fastajabtum-lee means ‘so you responded to me’ (past tense)

Its imperative form used in Surah al Baqarah is ‘fal-yas-tajeebu-lee’ meaning ‘so let them respond to Me’. (future tense)

“And when My servants ask you, [O Muhammad], concerning Me – indeed I am near. I respond to the invocation of the supplicant when he calls upon Me. So let them respond to Me [by obedience] and believe in Me that they may be [rightly] guided” (Surah al Baqarah 2: 186)

One of the Handsome Names of Allah is Al-Mujeeb, the One who Responds to the Call of the callers.

The one who invites is called as a daa’e داع (see this word in the above mentioned verse)

To sum up the key Arabic words:

Daa’e is a caller.

Da’awtukum means ‘I invited you’

Fastajabtum-lee means ‘You responded to me’

NOW let us discuss about that dangerous da’wah which I was telling you in the beginning.

You want to know who this dangerous daa’e is? And what is his da’wah?

Read this ayah!

“And Satan will say when the matter has been concluded, “Indeed, Allah had promised you the promise of truth. And I promised you, but I betrayed you. But I had no authority over you except that I invited you, and you responded to me. So do not blame me; but blame yourselves. I cannot be called to your aid, nor can you be called to my aid. Indeed, I deny your association of me [with Allah] before. Indeed, for the wrongdoers is a painful punishment.”  (Surah Ibraheem 14: 22)

So Shaytaan is the daa’e here. His purpose is to misguide me and you.  He is determined to betray me and you.

He works tirelessly to fulfill to achieve success in his mission.

He is so intelligent that he does all his work and yet escapes by putting the blame on his very followers!!

‘da’awtukum, fastajabtum-lee’, ‘I invited you and you responded to me’. 

‘fala taloomoone, wa loomoo anfusakum’, ‘So do not blame me but blame yourselves’!

What the Shaytaan, the infamous da’ee, actually means is:

I invited you but you fool, followed me’!

‘Did I tell you to respond to my temptations?’

‘Did I keep gun on your head and compel you to accept my da’wah? 

‘I just invited you. Who told you to respond to me?’!

‘You could have applied your mind and rejected me’! 

‘But no! You followed me’.

‘You were happy dancing to my tunes’! 

‘Now, I cannot help you. Go to hell’! 

Clever devil, cunning shaytaan!

Let us all beware of Shaytaan who takes different forms to perform his da’wah.

One’s evil self, bad thoughts, temptations, whispering, bad friendship – all these and many more, are the tools of Shaytaan’s da’wah!

“Indeed, Satan is an enemy to you; so take him as an enemy. He only invites his party to be among the companions of the Blaze” (Surah al Faatir 35: 6)

May Allah save us all from the cunning attacks of Shayateen. Aameen.

May Allah keep us always under His exclusive Care and Protection. Aameen.

For He is the Best to Protect. And He is the Best Disposer of all affairs!

Jazakallah Khayr for taking time to read this post of mine. I would love to have your feedback, Inshaa’Allah.

August 3, 2012 - Posted by | Reflections | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Man disgraces himself when he listens to shaitan. Shaitan being the way he is, makes evil things look sweet and tempting. Man being weak, listens to his whispers and follows him. May Allah save us from shaitan’s temptations. Aameen.
    JazakAllah brother for the reminder.

    Comment by outspoken hijabi | August 3, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you for taking the time out to read and comment.
      Barakallahu feeki, dear sister.

      Comment by MuQeet | August 3, 2012 | Reply


If You have something necessary to tell, You are most welcome :)

