YasSarNal QuR'aN

An Effort in Facilitation

Du’aas of Prophets and Messengers of Allah

We Muslims, the followers of the last Prophet – Prophet Muhammad, peace be upon him –  are the only fortunate community in the world for having blessed with the Qur’an that includes stories and inspiring lessons from the lives of different Prophets and Messengers of Allah, who came to this world from time to time to guide mankind. The glorious Qur’an, while narrating their life stories and teachings, also makes a mention of their du’aas (supplications). These du’aas are so inspiring that we need to learn them by heart and often call upon Allah by them. These du’aas are Allah’s selections, so to say, for the followers of His last and final Messenger. What an exclusive divine favour upon the Muslim Ummah!

1. Du’aa of Adam عليه السلام (and his wife):

رَبَّنَا ظَلَمْنَا أَنفُسَنَا وَإِن لَّمْ تَغْفِرْ لَنَا وَتَرْحَمْنَا لَنَكُونَنَّ مِنَ الْخَاسِرِينَ

“Our Lord! We have wronged ourselves. If You forgive us not, and bestow not upon us Your Mercy, we shall certainly be of the losers.” (Surah al A’raaf: 23)

2. Du’aa of Nooh عليه السلام

رَبِّ اغْفِرْ لِي وَلِوَالِدَيَّ وَلِمَنْ دَخَلَ بَيْتِيَ مُؤْمِنًا وَلِلْمُؤْمِنِينَ وَالْمُؤْمِنَاتِ وَلَا تَزِدِ الظَّالِمِينَ إِلَّا تَبَارًا

“My Lord! forgive me and my parents, and whoever enters my house as a believer, and forgive all believers, both men and women, and do not increase the wrong-doers in anything except perdition.” (Surah Nooh: 28)

3. Du’aa of Yunus عليه السلام after he was swallowed by a fish: 


لَّا إِلَهَ إِلَّا أَنتَ سُبْحَانَكَ إِنِّي كُنتُ مِنَ الظَّالِمِينَ

“None has the right to be worshipped but You (O Allah)], Glorified (and Exalted) are You [above all that (evil) they associate with You]. Truly, I have been of the wrong-doers.” (Surah al Anbiyaa: 87)


4. Du’aa of Ayyoob عليه السلام(after enduring illness for many years):


أَنِّي مَسَّنِيَ الضُّرُّ وَأَنتَ أَرْحَمُ الرَّاحِمِينَ

“Verily, distress has seized me, and You are the Most Merciful of all those who show mercy.” (Surah al Anbiyaa: 83)

5  Du’aa of Moosa عليه السلام when he was a stranger in the land of Madyan:

رَبِّ إِنِّي لِمَا أَنزَلْتَ إِلَيَّ مِنْ خَيْرٍ فَقِيرٌ

“My Lord! Truly, I am in need of whatever good that You bestow on me!” (Surah al Qasas: 24)

6 Du’aa of Moosa عليه السلام for eloquence of speech:

رَبِّ اشْرَحْ لِي صَدْرِي

وَيَسِّرْ لِي أَمْرِي

وَاحْلُلْ عُقْدَةً مِّن لِّسَانِي

يَفْقَهُوا قَوْلِي

 “O my Lord! Open for me my chest (grant me self-confidence, contentment, and boldness).

“And ease my task for me;

“And make loose the knot (the defect) from my tongue, (i.e. remove the incorrectness from my speech)

“That they understand my speech,” (Surah Taha: 25-28)

7. Du’aa by Yaqoob عليه السلام after hearing the sad news of having lost his son Yusuf:

فَصَبْرٌ جَمِيلٌ وَاللَّهُ الْمُسْتَعَانُ عَلَىٰ مَا تَصِفُونَ

“So Beautiful Patience. It is Allah’s help alone that I seek against what you utter” (Surah Yusuf: 18)

8. Du’aa of Yusuf  عليه السلام

فَاطِرَ السَّمَاوَاتِ وَالأَرْضِ أَنتَ وَلِيِّي فِي الدُّنُيَا وَالآخِرَةِ تَوَفَّنِي مُسْلِمًا وَأَلْحِقْنِي بِالصَّالِحِينَ

“The (only) Creator of the heavens and the earth! You are my Wali (Protector, Helper, Supporter, Guardian, etc.) in this world and in the Hereafter, cause me to die as a Muslim and join me with the righteous.” (Surah Yusuf: 101)

9. Du’aa of Luut عليه السلام  

     رَبِّ انصُرْنِي عَلَى الْقَوْمِ الْمُفْسِدِينَ

  “My Lord, support me against the corrupting people.” (Surah al Ankaboot: 30) 

10. Du’aa of Shuaib عليه السلام

رَبَّنَا افْتَحْ بَيْنَنَا وَبَيْنَ قَوْمِنَا بِالْحَقِّ وَأَنتَ خَيْرُ الْفَاتِحِينَ

“Our Lord! Judge between us and our people in truth, for You are the Best of those who give judgment.” (Surah al A’raaf: 89)

11. Du’aa of Sulayman عليه السلام 

رَبِّ أَوْزِعْنِي أَنْ أَشْكُرَ نِعْمَتَكَ الَّتِي أَنْعَمْتَ عَلَيَّ وَعَلَىٰ وَالِدَيَّ وَأَنْ أَعْمَلَ صَالِحًا تَرْضَاهُ وَأَدْخِلْنِي بِرَحْمَتِكَ فِي عِبَادِكَ الصَّالِحِينَ

“My Lord! Hold me under (Your) control that I may render thanks for the favour which You have bestowed on me and on my parents, and that I may act righteously in a manner that would please You. Include me, out of Your Mercy, among Your righteous servants.” (Surah an-Naml: 19)

Click here to read further du’aas (Part 2)

Jazakumullah Khayr. 

December 20, 2011 - Posted by | Du'aas - Qur'anic | , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. EXCELLENT
    MAY ALLAH BLESS YOU PROFUSELY

    Comment by dr n.a. | December 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. PLS USE BETTER ARABIC FONT

    Comment by dr n.a. | December 21, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for your comment and concern. May Allah accept your du’aa. Aameen. As for the fonts, I thought traditional Arabic font is the better one! Let me try other fonts in my next post, Insha’Allah.

      Comment by MuQeet | December 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. Salaam Br Ali. Thank you so so much for sharing the Du’aas of Prophets from the Qur’an. Prophet Muhammad said “the best among you is he who learns and teaches the Qur’an”. May Allah purify your’s and our hearts, and strengthen and preserve our efforts for His cause. Ameen. Thank you. Br Khalid

    Comment by Br Khalid | December 22, 2011 | Reply

    • Wa alaikumus salam, Br. Khalid. Jazakallah Khayr. May Allah reward you and accept your du’aa. Aameen.

      Comment by MuQeet | December 22, 2011 | Reply

  4. […] Du’aas of Prophets عليه السلام and Messengers عليه السلام […]

    Pingback by Du’aas of Pro… « askmyousuf | December 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. Thank u very much for sharing the Duaas.Excellent work. May Allah reward you.Ameen

    Comment by Asifa S. | December 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Jazakillah Khayr for your du’aa and kind words. May Allah reward you and accept your du’aa. Aameen.

      Comment by MuQeet | December 23, 2011 | Reply

  6. JazakaAllahu khairan ..plz use diff arabic font

    Comment by mohammed Omar | December 27, 2011 | Reply

    • wa iyyaka. i tried many fonts but this blog template is not supporting.
      instead, i can try png images but again it would be a problem when it comes to hadeeth text.

      Comment by MuQeet | December 28, 2011 | Reply


If You have something necessary to tell, You are most welcome :)

